The Pursuit of Happiness

In many societies the pursuit of happiness is the center of human right. In others it is ambiguous. As Bertrand Russell had said., “To be without some of the things you want is an indispensable part of happiness.” So in other words we can never really be happy.

Happiness is an emotional state of pleasant emotions. Various research groups aim to apply a scientific method to answer questions about what happiness is and how it might be attained. The United Nations declared March 20th the International Day of Happiness to recognize happiness as a universal goal.

Happiness can be gained in different ways. Whether it’s by serving others or by receiving gifts we all have been happy many times through out our lives. One time that I was the most happiest was when I got to do my first non kid triathlon. My dad was also doing it with me, well in front of me anyway. It started out with a three mile run. I got half way through it until the turn around and I had to start walking, but it was a fast walk. Surprisingly I wasn’t in last place. Then came the 12 mile bike ride. My dad told me to watch out for goat heads on the turn around, but I didn’t see any when I went on the turn around. I did hit a couple so then I found out that I had a flat tire and no way to fix it. As I went on my dad had finished and came back to me and saw my flat so he helped me fix it. After the bike was over I had to swim. I don’t remember most of it but I remember doing freestyle and breast stroke for a 500 meters. I got last place over all, but third place in my age group. The next year I got first place in my age group.

Some people gain happiness by having a great amount of money. Like Benjamin Franklin said “ A penny saved is a penny earned.” I think some people take that a little to literal. Money can not buy your happiness. It may replace the feeling of happiness but soon that feeling wears off and so you want to buy more of something else to feel like your happy again. Benjamin Franklin also stated that “Money never made a man happy, nor will it. There is nothing in its nature to produce happiness. The more of it one has the more one wants.” So in other words with money no one can really be happy.

When I receive things I feel happy, but that happiness is only temporal. Like for Christmas I got a Bop-it and I had fun playing with it for a while but then it started to get boring. That is why when I serve others I always feel happy. There are tons of different ways to serve other people so you couldn’t possibly get bored. Like helping out a local food bank. Or you can do what I am going to do on Valentines Day and babysit for adults. That day is going to be a little crazy, but at least I won’t be bored and I can always play with the kids if I want to.

Happiness is a choice. If someone gives you a thank you card you can feel happy because they noticed you or you can feel angry or annoyed by the card. If you got everything on your Christmas wish list you can feel happy or annoyed that they didn’t get your last minute requests. See happiness just depends upon how you look at a situation. Say that you climbed up a tree, but are to afraid to get down. You don’t have a phone and no body is around. The reason why you climbed the tree was to read a book in a quiet place. The positive spin on that is “Well at least I can still read my book.” Besides sooner or later someone will notice that you‘re missing and will help you get down. Happiness is really just all in your head.

Even though happiness is in your head other people can help you be happy. Like helping you with a math problem that you didn’t understand. Or maybe some one said a joke that made you laugh so hard your sides hurt. Do things that make you happy, but do it with friends. Sometimes friends will help you be more happy. Unless they are bringing you down. If they are bringing you down get rid of them as soon as you can. If you are upset about life just take a minute by yourself and breath, but don’t stay in there to long your friends are waiting. Sometimes exercising can be a way to relive your self of the world. Just pop in some ear buds or enjoy the sounds around you either way just going outside and staying fit is fun.

So in the end happiness is a state of mind and money cannot buy your happiness. It is also a choice that you have to make.

Leave a Reply

